Multitasking

After playing the multitasking game, it was clear that Richard Restak’s insights on such a subject were evident and clear. Every time I performed the various functions associated with the game, a multitude of thoughts ran through my brain. As Rustak states, “Thanks to technology, each of us exist simultaneously in not just one here, but in several” (Rustak 342). Literally every second, I was thinking about how i was supposed to connect the game with Rustak’s thoughts, or what other homework assignments I have due this week, which greatly impaired my playing ability of the game. After such a scenario played out for a few rounds of the game, I decided to look at Rustak’s counter-argument in which he talked briefly about how the brain is able to deal with more than one thing at a time, and the some-what aides in multitasking. For example, I decided to listen to music, which Rustak actually brings up as concrete evidence against his original argument of how multitasking is not the ideal way of going about various things, and how the brain isn’t made to function in such a way. I put on some music while playing the game and my scores increased dramatically. At the end of this exercise, I kept delving into the question that Rustak proposes: “A penalty is almost always paid when two activities are carried out simultaneously rather than separately” (Rustak 344).

Leave a Reply

